MAATA Awards

Please see the message below from Doug Long,

G’day all

I wanted to take a minute to send you the list of award winners for this year.

This year’s Hall of Fame induction dinner saw several new awards given for the very first time.

Dr. Isrow Above and Beyond the Call of Duty Award – Doug West

Dr. Isrow Above and Beyond the Call of Duty Award – Dustin Briggs

MAATA Educator of the Year – Robin Ploeger

MAATA Service Award – Mark Stutz

MAATA Most Distinguished AT – John Roslien

The Research Grants committee gave several hundreds of dollars to worthy researchers to bring new knowledge to our profession.  Those receiving grants for research were:

Jennifer Volberding – Oklahoma State – $500

Leon Greene/ Ben Timson – University of Kansas – $500

Tyler Oberlander – South Dakota State University – $770

Megan Brady – University of Northern Iowa – 1991.38

The Scholarship committee gave out 5 scholarships this year.

Those receiving scholarships were:

TOSA Medical Entry Level Scholarship – Maria Backes – Truman State University

MAATA Entry Level Scholarship – Megan Bolin – University of Central Oklahoma

MAATA Entry Level Scholarship – Charlotte Walter – University of Mary

TOSA Medical Postgraduate Scholarship – Kara Buss – University of Mary

MAATA Postgraduate Scholarship – Jill Johnson – Central College

The MAATA’s highest honor is our Hall of Fame.  This year’s recipient was Dr. Bernadette Olson from South Dakota State University.  Dr. Olson’s activities in our district association and on our Board of Certification are shining examples of her dedication and involvement in our profession.

The new awards criteria and deadlines are posted on the website.  Nominations will open later this year.  Please give consideration to nominating a friend, colleague or anyone else you know that deserves to be recognized for their efforts on behalf of our association and profession.